ChickHen – Sex Education

I was 6 years old.

My Grandma was preparing the eggs, laid by my country hen for hatching. She kept the eggs on a basket full of mud and top layer covered with husk. I was not aware that it would take 20+ days to hatch and was keenly watching the basket for the egg to hatch. Laughing at my ignorance on this, my grandma told that it would take 20 days & asked me to wait until that!

After 20 days when the eggs hatched, I was convinced on the subject how chick came out of the egg. Even though I did not understand how it went in. To solve the doubt I went to my mom and asked

How children are born?

I got the standard answer what parents give. “God will give to every married lady!” Mom replied.

“How will god know who is getting married“, I asked.

I got a tight slap from her. Crying and confused I left the place.

I am now not sure, how I would educate my kid if he/she asks the same at that age. Is Sex education required at that age?

3 Replies to “ChickHen – Sex Education”

  1. At 6 we don’t have to explain to our kids nor they would understand it. But when they are teens, maybe in high school we definetely need to explain them..about the body and the changes. Not specifically the intercourse which many people think is Sex education. For girls it should be much earlier because they go thru changes much faster. They need to know what’s happening to their body and how to handle it. Overall sex education is a must in a appropriate age but not too late.

Leave a Reply

