Excuse Me!

Year 2004

I borrowed my Friend’s Motor Bike & went to Anna Salai Chennai. I had to buy a shoe from Khadims & had to buy a Philips Iron box. After buying all the items, I was returning home. The Sun was ripping the skin & I had to switch back lanes to hide behind the Metropolitan bus shadow.

In Chennai Anna Salai, the Auto & motor Cycles has to take the right most of the lanes. My bad time I was in the left most lane & the Traffic Cop stopped me along with another guy.

As usual, he started to the other guy… Do you have driving license, does the vehicle has RC, Insurance & pollution certificates.  After verifying those, he came to me.

Before him asking me anything, I asked in ENGLISH… Excuse me Sir…Can you please tell me the route to T.Nagar. I asked this question as if I do not know the way.

He replied,

Sir, go to right lane Sir…Straight Sir…Devar Statue in Nandanam Sir…Right Cutting … T.Nagar Sir.

I thanked him. Thanked god and took off to home.

While I forced myself on the right lane to avoid any further violations, my mind was thinking, why in Tamilnadu we do not respect people who talk Tamil. Do we really give respect to Dhothi (not the politician border Dhothi).

The Police let me go because he felt very happy to talk in ENGLISH. Situation was created for him to feel happy & important.

Year 2010

Even after 62 years of Independence from the British, We still are slaves to the language they left. The language itself is a major positive for India to grow financially. On the other hand, the language by itself is a major drawback for us – which had slowed down our growth rate.

Long Live English!

Long Long Live Tamil!

One Reply to “Excuse Me!”

  1. Comments from Phani chandar via Email

    I read your post Excuse me!. Its nice. I remembered another incident that happened with my sister.

    She was in her final semester and she had to do a live project as part of her course. She and her friends managed to get a project in wipro.

    One day she was coming back from her wipro. It was around 7pm. She got down from wipro bus at camp road and started walking towards home. It was a 10 mins walk and the road was dimly lit with not many ppl on the road. She was on phone with her friend and was few mins away from home. Suddenly some one came from behind in a cycle and snatched her gold chain. The thief went a few meters ahead but fell from his cycle. He left the cycle behind and started running.

    My sister was shocked and didnt know what to do. She spontaneously said ” hello excuse me!”

    the thief disappeared in darkness. An old man noticed this from a distance and came to help my sister. Finally she took the cycle left behind by the thief and came home. Later she and my dad went to the police station, filed a complaint and left the cyle in with them. @ years have gone by and Still awaiting some response from the police.

Leave a Reply

